Posted by: Kirsty | March 27, 2009

Sarah Waters

*squeal*

I have absolutely adored every single one of Sarah Waters’s four novels. Really and truly, she is probably my favourite contemporary novelist, and one of only a tiny handful of writers whose work I would go and buy immediately, in hardback, no questions asked.

So it was a little squeal of glee that I got Virago’s email announcing the launch of Sarah Waters’s new website and, even better, half of the first chapter of her new book The Little Stranger. I’ve now read the sample material, and it’s brilliant. I immediately went and pre-ordered my copy. 68 days until publication… 68 days too long if you ask me.

Like The Night Watch, the novel is set in the 1940s, and this time it’s a ghost story. Here’s the synopsis:

In a dusty post-war summer in rural Warwickshire, a doctor is called to a patient at lonely Hundreds Hall. Home to the Ayres family for over two centuries, the Georgian house, once grand and handsome, is now in decline, its masonry crumbling, its gardens choked with weeds, the clock in its stable yard permanently fixed at twenty to nine. Its owners – mother, son and daughter – are struggling to keep pace with a changing society, as well as with conflicts of their own.
 
But are the Ayreses haunted by something more sinister than a dying way of life? Little does Dr Faraday know how closely, and how terrifyingly, their story is about to become entwined with his.

I’m. So. Excited.


Responses

  1. W00t! A new Sarah Walters novel! Yippee!!

  2. I’m looking forward to The Little Stranger as well, I hadn’t heard about the website so am now off to read the sample.

  3. That is exciting news. Fingersmith is definitely in my top 10 reads–I really enjoyed Tipping the Velvet and admired Night Watch, though I admit, I was a bit let down by Affinity. I’ve assigned Fingersmith a few times in a course on Victorian sensation fiction and it may be the most popular book I’ve ever assiged. On the other hand, a friend reported last night that she took me up on my recommendation of FS for her book group and it may have killed the group…only one other person showed up for the meeting and nobody has tried to restart the group since. Hmmmm. Surely it’s a coincidence?

  4. I really like her, too. And at the moment, we are represented by the same literary agency, which just makes me feel scared and like I really ought to get on with writing something serious, and soon. I’ll definitely be reading her next book.

  5. I haven’t read Night Watch yet, but I’ve loved all her other books. They’re the sort of books you just submerge yourself in — marvelous. I should get Night Watch finished before the new one comes out! Thanks for the heads-up!

  6. I adore all of Sarah Waters books, having just finished The Night Watch. It was brilliant – for those who cannot get into it, read it again. I loved the characters and wanted the story to keep going on and on. I would love it if Sarah Waters did a sequel to it ! ?
    I have also read the beginning of The Little Stranger, it seems really interesting. I can’t wait until it comes out.
    I would be interested in discussing with similar minded people, Sarah’ s books.


Categories