Posted by: Kirsty | April 7, 2009

Victoria Coren on David Starkey

I’m not normally a fan of everything Victoria Coren does – I’m not *not* a fan – oh, you know what I mean. BUT, this article from the most recent edition of The Observer is brilliant:

Well done, David Starkey, well done. It worked. Last week, while talking about Henry VIII, you said: “One of the great problems has been that Henry, in a sense, has been absorbed by his wives. Which is bizarre. But it’s what you expect from feminised history, the fact that so many of the writers who write about this are women and so much of their audience is a female audience.”

You said this because you are promoting a TV series about Henry VIII and you thought you would wind up the feminists, flush them out to write irritably in the press and plug your show.

And look! Here I am! Obedient as Little Red Riding Hood, trotting out of the woods with my wicker basket of annoyance. But April fool, David Starkey! For I am not going to include the name of your series, nor when it’s on, nor where; instead, I’d like to take this opportunity to recommend The Wire on DVD. Excellent.

Read the rest

Categories

