Posted by: Kirsty | March 18, 2009

The Orange Prize 2009 Longlist

More prize news today in the form of the longlists for The Orange Prize 2009.

The Household Guide to Dying – Debra Adelaide
Girl in a Blue Dress – Gaynor Arnold
Their Finest Hour and a Half – Lissa Evans
Blonde Roots – Bernadine Evaristo
Scottsboro – Ellen Feldman
Strange Music – Laura Fish
Love Marriage – V V Ganeshananthan
Intuition – Allegra Goodman
The Wilderness – Samantha Harvey
The Invention of Everything Else – Samantha Hunt
The Lost Dog – Michelle de Kretser
Molly Fox’s Birthday – Deirdre Madden
A Mercy – Toni Morrison
The Russian Dreambook of Colour and Flight – Gina Ochsner
Home – Marilynne Robinson
Evening is The Whole Day – Preeta Samarasan
Burnt Shadows – Kamila Shamsie
American Wife – Curtis Sittenfeld
The Flying Troutmans – Miriam Toews
The Personal History of Rachel DuPree – Ann Weisgarber

Being as I have been ensconced in the nineteenth century, I haven’t heard of many of these, but immediately jumping out are two big-hitters: Marilynne Robinson and of course the literary titan that is Toni Morrison.

I really must get round to reading that copy of The Flying Troutmans, which I was so kindly sent by the publisher a few months ago.

Responses

  1. I have not been enconsced in the 19th century, but there are quite a lot I have never heard of either, and there is only one I have actually read, the excellent Intuition by Allegra Goodman.

  2. Ooh, Curtis Sittenfeld for the win please.

    (Does the fact that’s the only one I have read on the list negate my response?)

  3. Goodness, is it that time again, already?

    I have3 in theTBR – Mdden, de Kretser and Shamsie. I’d best get cracking.


Categories

