Posted by: Kirsty | March 6, 2009

Photo Meme

I’m a few days late to this one, but Fleur Fisher recently tagged me in this photo meme.

“Find your 5th photo file folder, then the 5th photo in that file folder. Then pass the meme to 5 people.”

Here’s my photo:

albertmemorial

It’s not the greatest photograph ever taken, and I’m sure experts will balk at the lack of light or perspective or something, but I rather like this snap. It is, of course, the Albert Memorial in South Kensington, London.

It was taken in early May 2008, when I took a full two weeks off work and John and I went on a bit of a jaunt to various places in England we’d always wanted to go to. Our main stops were in Haworth, York, and then down to Bath. We also spent a day in London – yes, we had been there before, rather a lot! – but we’d not been to many of the museums. The amazing Natural History Museum is very close to both the Albert Memorial and the Royal Albert Hall* (the Albert Hall was behind me as I took this photo) so we stopped off here first.

It’s an incredible memorial – some information about it can be found here – and my abiding memory of being there that day is that I’d forgotten just how big it is. Similarly, the Royal Albert Hall was much smaller than I remembered it.

I’m not sure how much people like being tagged, so I tag you all. All of you! And let me know in the comments if you do it so I can be nosy and have a look.

*Random Kirsty trivia fact: I realised I didn’t believe in God – my anti-Damascene conversion as I like to call it – inside the Royal Albert Hall. I was 14 and at a Methodist Youth Association rally (said rally was also filmed for Songs of Praise, and I like to think that my lightbulb moment is captured on film somewhere). Don’t think it was quite what my mother intended to happen when she packed me off to it…

Categories

