Posted by: Kirsty | March 5, 2009

Books, Plaque, Catch-Up, etc

I meant to post these photos weeks ago, but I kept forgetting to transfer them from camera to computer. On the Sunday after my birthday last month, we decided to go through to London for the day just to have a bit of a  wander around. We only live an hour away after all, and my passion for the city knows no bounds.

Just before we set off, we found out that at midday there would be a plaque unveiled at what had been The Establishment Club on Greek Street in Soho. This was the club co-founded by Peter Cook, and where lots of interesting cultural things happen, like Private Eye being worked on there. Above the club was also the photographic studio where the infamous picture of Christine Keeler on The Chair was taken. The plaque was dedicated to Peter Cook, and there would be various luminaries there, so we decided to pop along and watch the unveiling.

Here’s the club, under its new name of Zebrano, with the plaque covered by a green sheet.

plaque1

In a true comedy style, however, the wind blew the covering off the plaque before the unveiling could happen:

plaque2

So some poor sod had to creep out in a death-defying shimmy to replace the sheet:

plaque3

Cue many of the assembled journos and photographers shouting “Don’t jump!” etc. The official unveiling by veteran DJ Mike Read took place shortly after, though we’d all seen the plaque already. Whoopsie. Never mind.

We then wandered off and made our way to the South Bank, which is well-known as my Favourite Place in London Ever. As well as having the National Theatre, the British Film Institute, a branch of Foyles (one of my favourite bookshops), the Tate Modern, and The Globe, the South Bank also has rows of second hand bookstalls under a bridge:

southbankbooks

Just looking at that makes me feel slightly weak at the knees (and also makes my bank manager quiver in panic). I bought five books: The Way of All Flesh by Samuel Butler, another biography of Charlotte Bronte (because a girl never can have enough), Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer, On Human Bondage by W. Somerset Maugham, and Letters from a Fainthearted Feminist by Jill Tweedie. As ever, with and essay and a dissertation looming I have no idea when I’ll actually read them, but at the moment I’m hoping to block out a few weeks in 2037.

By the way, Happy World Book Day everyone!

Responses

  1. I always forget that that’s on the South Bank, and thus am always late whenever I walk past it…


Categories

