Posted by: Kirsty | February 2, 2009

Cambridge and Snow

Spent the weekend in Cambridge with Academic Friend. It was beyond glorious. I could have actually moved into Heffer’s Bookshop and lived there.

heffers

Heffer’s is on the right there, with Trinity College on the left. What an amazing place. We walked for miles too – so much to see! And it was fantastic to hang out with Lauren again, and I have missed her terribly since she moved there. Between Heffer’s and Galloway and Porter, I picked up some booky bargains too: Victorian Sensation: Or the Spectacular, the Shocking, and the Scandalous in Nineteenth-Century Britain by Michael Diamond; The Truest Form of Patriotism: Pacifist Feminism in Britain, 1870-1902 by Heloise Brown; and The Virago Book of Women and the Great War, edited by Joyce Marlow. I also picked up a cheap copy of a Pink Floyd biography – Pigs Might Fly by Mark Blake – for my Beloved.

Meanwhile, today, back in Oxford, there is lots of snow. My office is the coldest place on earth, or so it feels like. Have never been more thankful for woollens.

Responses

  1. You went to Cambridge and didn’t tell me! 😦

    Still, glad you had fun. πŸ™‚

  2. I thought you were in London! πŸ˜›

  3. Er, yes, that is technically true… I suppose my point is, um…

    I shall email you soon! x


Categories

