Posted by: Kirsty | January 8, 2009

The Greatest Victorian Novel?

Catherine wonders what Victorian novel would convert a Modernist. My own way into the Victorians was via the Brontes, but I also think Dracula, Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, and The Woman in White might also do the trick.

Catherine has a poll over at her blog, so do stop by and vote.

And while I’m here, I see that Wilkie Collins, author of The Woman in White, as I’m sure you all know, was born on this day in 1824. Happy 185th birthday Mr C!

Responses

  1. I have just nipped over to Catherine’s blog which is wonderful and as i am a Victorian addict have added it to my list. Middlemarch is to me the greatest Victorian novel but close on its heels are Adam Bede, Barchester Chronicles, Jane Eyre and Bleak House.


Categories

