Posted by: Kirsty | January 5, 2009

January Blues

According to this morning’s Today Programme, scientists have said that today is the most stressful/depressing day of the year. I think someone says that about every second day, but today it’s apparently down to the end of the festive season, money, cold weather, and going back to work. I would like to state here and now that today has been the most depressing day of 2009 for me for the following reasons:

1. Had to get up early for the first time in 10 days. Boo.
2. Staggered to shower. Caught ankle on the (metal) attic stairs. Bled slightly. Swore a lot.
3. It was bloody freezing because the heating had been off overnight. Had extra-hot shower, trying to cram as much of me under the hot water as possible. This was no easy feat as there is a great deal of me to cram.
4. Had to leave for work with hair still wet. In the three minute walk to work some of my hair froze.
5. Icy pavements. Went for a Burton outside work. Landed unceremoniously on bum. Ow ow ow.
6. Arrived to discover that the one saving grace for today – work lunch in local yummy Lebanese restaurant – has been postponed.

On the upside, I’m back at uni tonight, and I’m looking forward to it. Even if the class is on HG-bloody-Wells. Also, a colleague was in New York over Christmas and brought back everyone some Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. Yum.

Responses

  1. Oh no, poor you! Still, you can take it out on H G Wells later. Perhaps you should take yourself for a nice lunch somewhere?

  2. Funny you should say that as since writing this post a friend and I have decided to go for a pub lunch. That should ease the pain a bit.

  3. Whoa! You have a THREE minute walk to work!
    That’s…crazy near.

    The boys went back to school today, the festivities are over, it’s freezing, literally, my husband is in hospital (hopefully only as a day patient) and I’m waiting to hear if I can go collect him. Yup, it’s a bit of a gloomy day…

    But tomorrow! It will all be glorious : )
    Perhaps…

    p.s What’s a Burton?

  4. Yes, three minutes. I realise I am supremely lucky in this regard, though yesterday it was scant consolation, frankly.

    I’m honestly not sure of the provenance of ‘gone for a Burton’. I just tried to look it up in a dictionary of euphemisms but it wasn’t there. I’m not even sure whether ‘Burton’ should have a capital letter, but rightly or wrongly I have a mental association with Richard Burton. That could, of course, be bollocks.

    Hope your husband is safely home from hospital my dear. x


Categories

