Posted by: Kirsty | December 18, 2008

Orange Prize 2009: Judging Panel Announced

News reaches me this afternoon that the judging panel has been announced for the Orange Prize for Fiction 2009. As I’m sure you already know, the Orange Prize is for the best novel by a woman. The panel will be chaired by Radio 4 presenter Fi Glover. She will be joined by:

For the 2009 Orange Prize, novels must be published in the UK between 1st April 2008 and 31st March 2009. The prize is administered by Booktrust, the UK charity for books and reading. The winner snags £30,000 and a bronze figurine called Bessie.

I think it’s a really nicely mixed panel this year (and no Lily Allen!). Thanks to a mountainous heap of uni work I am quite behind on my contemporary fiction, so I’m not sure who might be in the running for this. My Christmas read, The Behaviour of Moths, has been nominated for the Costa First Novel award, and has been receiving plaudits left, right, and centre, so I wouldn’t be surprised if I saw that on the Orange list.

The longlist is announced on 18 March 2009, the shortlist on 21 April 2009, and the winner is revealed on 3 June 2009. There will also be the separate prize for the best new female writer, and the shortlist for that is announced on 7 April 2009.

Responses

  1. Hi Kirsty
    Thanks for this list. I really wish the Orange prize included short fiction collections as well as novels.
    I found your blog through A Salted. I’ll stay tuned and link you on mine!
    WRW x

  2. Thanks for the link WRW!

    I wonder whether a separate category for short stories would be a good idea? I’m not sure you could necessarily judge a novel against a collection of stories as – to me at least – they feel like such different things.


Categories

